Contact Us

Please send general questions to

Below are listed the names, roles, and contact information for board members, key contributors, and chapter leaders for the Native Plant Society of New Jersey.

Executive Committee

President: Kazys Varnelis

Vice President: Membership
Randi Eckel

Vice President: Chapter Liaison
Elaine Silverstein 

Secretary: Laura Bush

Treasurer: Bob Swain

Corresponding Secretary: Michael Jacob

Board of Advisors

Webmasters: Kazys Varnelis & Michael Jacob

Horticulture: Hubert Ling

Entomology: Randi Eckel  

Agriculture and Natural Resources: Sylvia Kovacs

Programs: Kim Correro

Ecologist: Bill Young

Legislative Committee

co-chairs: Laura Bush and Russell Furnari

Chapter Leaders

Bergen Passaic Chapter 
Leaders: Tom Bender, Joanne Leslie, Elaine Silverstein, and Melissa Thier    

Delaware Bayshores Chapter
Leader: Joe Alvarez 

Essex County Chapter 
Leader: Deb Ellis   

Highland Park Chapter 
Leader: Hervé Barrier  

Hudson Chapter 
Leaders: Lorraine Freeney, Lauren Morse, and Dawn Giambalvo

Hunterdon Chapter 
Leaders: Susan Haake, Dawn Pogosaew   

Jersey Shore Chapter 
Leaders: Karen Walzer, Becky Laboy, Kelly Balon, and Pamela Almeida 

Mercer County Chapter
Leaders: Susan Tarr

Monmouth Chapter 
Leaders: Kim Rowe

Morris County Chapter
Leaders: Brianna O’Halloran, Megan Stypulkoski, and Amy DiPalma

Somerset County Chapter
Leaders: Valerie Szkodny and Nancy Toro

Southeast Chapter
Leaders: Jesse Connor, Jack Connor, Barbara Fiedler, and Steve Fiedler  

Southwest Chapter (formerly Rancocas Nature Center Chapter) 
Co-Leaders: Tara Sullivan and Bobbie Herbs

Sussex Chapter 
Leader: Cynthia Rauth and April Fisher